Isn’t Ironic

I love Alanis, collected all her albums, mimic all her songs and even her style. But this is not about her; it’s about her song…

As you already know by now, I am fixated with traveling. But the irony of it is that, I have this certain fear to travel or to be specific, by mode of transportation:

Plane – I’m a bit claustrophobic (fear of close space). The first time I flew on a plane I almost panicked, it felt I was confined in a box with no air to breathe.

Boat – First is I don’t know how to swim, second is I’m a bit of Thalassophobic (fear of sea) especially whenever we sail on an open sea without any island in sight

Car- Oh yes even car, we had an accident which ironically happened a day before my wedding day. Since then I became a bit Ochophobic (fear of vehicle) and I cannot sleep during long travels unlike before.

 Sometimes, I fantasize owning a “travel capsule” so that I can be transported to my destination with less travel (and in less time). But since it’s just a wishful thinking, I opted to face the truth and conquer my fear:

Plane – On my very first flight, I stayed at the window side of the plane so that I can see the outside. I booked my third flight at nighttime and unaccompanied. At another flight, I sat on the back of the plane with no window.

Car – I have started my driving lesson and already got my non-pro license.

Boat – (honestly, this one is quite difficult for me) I am still planning to go somewhere by sea transport instead of plane and I’m still looking forward on learning how to swim.

Above all these, I always pray every time I travel for safety and strength to overpower my fears.

 In psychology, the best way to overcome your fear is by exposing yourself to it. I cannot say that I’m totally cured with this insanity but I’m definitely fighting to satisfy my urge to travel. I am currently practicing the Mind over Matter scheme and believing with the slogan that goes: “Face your Fear and Live your Dream.” Achieve what you aspire for, may it being traveling, sports, or anything that interest you.  Don’t let the ironies of life interfere your goal.

 

“Life has a funny way of sneaking up on you…”

About pinay travelaholic

A Filipina who loves to travel. Born with a family of travelers and started traveling when she was just 2months old. Raised in the hustle and bustling life of the metro but has savored the laid back lifestyle of the countryside during summer vacations. At a very young age, she has experienced being stranded on a train for 3 days, being thrown inside the window of the bus just to save a seat and “top loaded” (riding on the roof) on a PUJ just to reach their destination. …Traveling became her adventure since then. View all posts by pinay travelaholic

Leave a Reply

