“The Climb” – Mt. Makulot, Batangas

Another “first” in my so-called “travel chronicle”. Aside from this was my first time to climb a mountain, this was also the first time I joined a (mountaineering) group that I haven’t met before. Well actually, I am supposed to climb with my cousin who knows these people but she backed out the last-minute. I was prepared for this journey so I decided to push thru with the plan even without her

One of the friends of my cousin fetched me and we rode the bus going to Cuenca, Batangas. Upon arrival, we registered our names as part of safety measure for all climbers. We were then joined by the other members of the group who were waiting for us at the foot of the mountain and started the climb.

Climbing Mt. Makulot is about 3-5 hrs. They have this store in the middle of the mountain and the campsite area for beginners. But we ascended further for our destination was on the peak of the mountain. During the first few paces, climbing was easy. But after the store, the climb became difficult for me.

“Keep on moving,

Keep climbing,

Keep the faith baby,

It’s all about,

It’s all about.

The climb.

Keep the faith.

Keep your faith”

(The Climb, Miley Cyrus)

You really have to have patience and perseverance when climbing, otherwise you will not reach the top and achieve self-fulfilment. Good thing the group was very patient with me. This gave me strength to continue and finish the climb.

We finally arrived at the summit before sundown. I met the rest of the group who were already there and have arranged their tents.

At night, we cooked food, ate dinner and had some chit-chat session. This got me acquainted with them and everyone made me feel welcomed. I am grateful with these people for without them I will not experience “the climb”.

Waking up early in the morning was the best part of the climb. The fog, the cool breeze, the sunrise and the view…Fantastic!!!

 After breakfast we started to descend. Other says it’s hard going up than going down. But for me, it’s the other way around especially with those steeply slopes. I even lost my balance on the way downhill. Thank God we reached the ground in one piece.

 This was my first (and hopefully not my last) experience in climbing. It was definitely tiring but worth the effort seeing what’s down below. Plus, meeting simple and carefree mountaineers made this journey more memorable.

About pinay travelaholic

A Filipina who loves to travel. Born with a family of travelers and started traveling when she was just 2months old. Raised in the hustle and bustling life of the metro but has savored the laid back lifestyle of the countryside during summer vacations. At a very young age, she has experienced being stranded on a train for 3 days, being thrown inside the window of the bus just to save a seat and “top loaded” (riding on the roof) on a PUJ just to reach their destination. …Traveling became her adventure since then. View all posts by pinay travelaholic

2 responses to ““The Climb” – Mt. Makulot, Batangas

Leave a Reply

