St. Paul Church – Cabagan, Isabela

Our trip would not be complete haven’t we visited St. Paul Church in Cabagan wherein they are celebrating the feast day. It is just in front of Cabagan plaza, a few steps from my brother-in-law’s house.

cabagan1

All the while I thought it was a newly constructed church but I was told by the sister of my brother-in-law that the church was actually centuries old. The church was refurbish and still undergoing further renovations.

cabagan

What I know is that demolishing old churches are not allowed anymore since it is part of town’s history and can become a heritage treasure that can attract tourists. I remember how the old church of my mother was salvaged and was saddened to see a new façade that was totally different from its old fascia. The only area left at its original state is the belfry.

Destroying old churches must be stop and instead, everyone should give importance not only to the sanctity but also the history of churches constructed centuries ago.

(you may check our itinerary for this tour Cagayan-Isabela-Kalinga Trip)

About pinay travelaholic

A Filipina who loves to travel. Born with a family of travelers and started traveling when she was just 2months old. Raised in the hustle and bustling life of the metro but has savored the laid back lifestyle of the countryside during summer vacations. At a very young age, she has experienced being stranded on a train for 3 days, being thrown inside the window of the bus just to save a seat and “top loaded” (riding on the roof) on a PUJ just to reach their destination. …Traveling became her adventure since then. View all posts by pinay travelaholic

2 responses to “St. Paul Church – Cabagan, Isabela

  • Donato Atuan Caronan

    I was born in San Juan, Cabagan. I went to high school in Lyceum of Cabagan where the St. Paul the Apostle church is located. It was beautiful then. After so many years I have been away, I decided to visit my old high school. Come to find out that St. Ferdinand parochial school from Ilagan bought Lyceum and decided to change the fascia of the church. I used to remember a big sculpture of St. Paul the Apostle in front of the church staring at everyone entering the church.

    By the way, are you married to a Banguilan family? My wife is a Banguilan, parents from San Juan, Cabagan. If you are, your husband and my wife are related. Are you from Cabagan?

    • pinay travelaholic

      Hi, and thanks for dropping by!
      My passion for old churches ignited when I started traveling, so I always drop by to churches (old or new) every time I visit a new place. My heart fell in love with Tumauini Church and was amazed on how they were able to preserve the structure, same with the old churches of Ilocos Norte and Ilocos Sur. My heart was torn into pieces alongside the crumbles of the old churches of Bohol due to the recent earthquake. And I was saddened to know that your church was a century old church and was refurbished. It is really depressing when some people are not sentimental when it comes to their history and old churches are part of it. Do you agree?
      My sister married a Banguilan which gave us the opportunity to visit your hometown and experience Cabagan’s Hospitality =)

Leave a Reply

