Batis, Carolina Naga City

How to beat the summer heat? Some take refuge in beaches, others in man-made pools but my forever sanctuary is nestled in Carolina Naga City, a spring with water so cool.

batis

batis

I have first set foot on this place in early 2000 and instantly became attached. And each and every visit left me with fond memories etched in my heart. The green forest, the sound of flowing water and the peaceful surrounding makes you commune with nature. And those recollections would not be complete without the people I shared it with. Together with my travel hubby (then my boyfriend), cousins and cousins’ friends, a “spur of the moment” would lead us to my happy place…“Batis”. We would just ride scooter (the biggest group was 6 scooters with 1 or 2 back ride each) with no extra clothes, just chips and beers at hand. Oh how I miss those Young and Wild and Free days!

2ngo s batis

year 2004

year 2006

year 2005

year 2007

year 2007

With the corporate world taking its toll on me, it’s been quite awhile since the last time I’ve been there. And summer of last year gave me a chance to relive those happy days, though we weren’t able to reach the same spot we usually go because my dad and uncle joined us this time and it may be hard for them to trek. We just settled to a nearby area, plenty of people enjoying the place, few cottages for rent, water in the stream is not that deep and the mini waterfall is out of sight. But just the same, this place is still and will forever be my sanctuary… my “happy place”.

short walk

short walk

cottages

cottages

my uncle enjoying the water

my uncle enjoying the water

my dad loving the water spa

my dad loving the water spa

my cousins reliving the memories

my cousins reliving the memories

my happy place

my happy place

About pinay travelaholic

A Filipina who loves to travel. Born with a family of travelers and started traveling when she was just 2months old. Raised in the hustle and bustling life of the metro but has savored the laid back lifestyle of the countryside during summer vacations. At a very young age, she has experienced being stranded on a train for 3 days, being thrown inside the window of the bus just to save a seat and “top loaded” (riding on the roof) on a PUJ just to reach their destination. …Traveling became her adventure since then. View all posts by pinay travelaholic

Leave a Reply

