The highlight of our Iloilo tour is to see the old churches of the whole province. Jaro Church is the only church in our itinerary that we were not able to visit due to time constraint. Got a glimpse of San Joaquin Cemetery, Guimbal and Tigbauan Church along our way to Antique. We were able to attend Sunday Mass at Molo Church and gaze at the grandeur of Sto. Tomas de Villanueva Church in Maig-ao.
Also known as St. Anne Parish Church, it was constructed in 1831. Dubbed as “Feminist Church” in the Philippines because all 16 statues along the pillar aisles are all female saints.
It was declared a National Landmark by National Historical Institute in 1992.
Also known as San Nicolas de Tolentino Parish Church, it was constructed between 1769 and 1774. It is made of yellow adobe sandstone called “igang” and coral stones from Guimaras. Considered one of the oldest churches in the country.
Also known as St. John of Sahagun Parish Church, it was constructed between 1575 and 1580. One of the feature in the interior of the church are the colorful tile mosaic murals in the altar and the Way of the Cross. Regarded as the only Latin-American inspired church in the Philippines.
San Joaquin Cemetery
Also known as The Campo Santo or mortuary chapel, it was initiated in 1892. A baroque style of architecture made of white coral and red bricks. It was declared National Cultural Treasure by National Museum in 2015.
Also known as Sto. Tomas de Villanueva Parish Church, it was constructed in 1787. Exhibited with large buttresses and two unique belfries with a very detailed façade featuring the image of St. Christopher holding on to a coconut tree while carrying the infant Jesus.
It was listed by UNESCO World Heritage as one of the four Baroque Churches in the Philippines in 1993.